Bluetooth Pains

Well, today I again tried to get my Bluetoot-Stick working. I upgraded the kernel to an even newer version and hoped it would work. Unfortunately – even though I am by far not the only one with this problem – seems like the newest kernel version hasnt changed anything.

VirtualBox also didnt work so I saw myself forced to downgrade to an older kernel. Trying a few kernels I noticed that again nvidia’s module sucks! Nvidia’s modules only work on 64 bit kernels for me. Even nv doesnt work anymore on 32 bit (and nouveau is complicated to install – I simply was too lazy to reinstall it, after uninstalling it, since it collides with nvidia-glx).

So well, 64 bit Kernel, 32 bit Userland. A lot faster for some reason I cannot really explain – maybe the Kernel is better optimized on amd64. Still, bluetooth was not working. And VirtualBox striked, because VirtualBox only works when Userland and Kernel have the same Architecture.

Trying to force the installation of the 64 bit version of virtualbox confused apt. I just purged it, but now somehow dpkg is still confused and … well … my packaging system can be considered broken I think. It ist completely confused with the architectures.

Oh great! To summarize: Bluetooth doesnt work … I dont know why, I never had problems … I dont know why kernel developers break compatibilities for more than one version. This makes no sense to me. I dont know why the linux kernel has to be a liquid goo of mud rather than some … less liquid goo of mud. Why arent old Kernel Modules kept instead of just removing them just because some idiot thinks the kernel architecture is not good and must be drastically changed in every shitty kernel release? Removing a working piece of software by a piece of software which doesnt work to „improve“ this software… great deal! Nvidia works only on 64 bit kernels … As well as Nv … VirtualBox at the moment only on 32 bit kernels … and my package manager is broken.

Well. I think I will reinstall the whole stuff, with a 64 bit userland. I tried to use Wubi to boot some linux which can perform a clean installation, but on my windows-partition there is not enough space anymore. So I’ll postpone that to a time when I find an empty CD and a little more time. At the moment I am working under windows. Not perfect, but I have an nx-client installed with which I can login to a linux-machine.

Eine Antwort zu Bluetooth Pains

  1. […] Bluetooth Pains « DijkstrabühlBy dasuxullebt VirtualBox also didnt work so I saw myself forced to downgrade to an older kernel. Trying a few kernels I noticed that again nvidia’s module sucks! Nvidia’s modules only work on 64 bit kernels for me. Even nv doesnt work anymore on 32 …Dijkstrabühl – https://uxul.wordpress.com/ […]

Schreibe einen Kommentar

