I really tend to consider becoming a Mac-Developer

Full of expectations I bought my macbook in those days, knowing that it would be expensive but a lot of people like it. Well, meanwhile, getting used to some drawbacks of Mac OS, I know quite a few good parts of Software.

On the other hand, since I read more and more about macs, I get more information about them and about the software Mac-Users usually use and consider being „great“.

Well, one of them is the so called „Mercury Mover“ (via), which helps you get around the inability of Apples‘ programmers to make a reasonable window manager. There are a lot of similar pieces of software. None of them is free. Usually they cost about 20$. 20$ for a proper window-management.

Then there is Growl. It may be a handy thing to have some central notifier, but it is nothing so „great“ (as I was told often). Well, its software that is widely used by other software to send notifications, similar to libnotify on Linux, but noone would call libnotify „great software“.

Another thing is software for screencasts, well, there is the platform independent vnc2flv, which is free, and should be sufficient for many purposes, but well, it can only be as good as the vnc-server is (and vnc-servers optimize for network-traffic rather than video quality), and I found Copernicus being free, but it crashes before saving videos for me, dont know why. And well, for simple purposes, the following bashscript should be sufficient: i=0; while true; do screencapture $i.png; sleep 0.1; ((i++)); done)

Well, under Linux, you have a lot of free window-managers and at least recordmydesktop as a screencast-utility (my old screencasts for my game were made with recordmydesktop under kde).

Under Mac OS, there may also be free utilities, but the existence of utilities you have to pay for shows that there must obviously be people who pay for it. Well ok, maybe there are professionals who need professional tools – but usually, professional tools are a lot more expensive than 20$ and can do a lot more than producing screencasts – actually I wonder if there is a „professional“ screencast-creator anyway – actually, it would make more sense as part of some video-cut-application that can do a lot more other stuff.

And for a software that can do a lot of stuff, and is made for professional usage, it is ok to pay money. You earn money using the software, so why shouldnt you pay for it? But software for professional usage usually has professional quality. I am not sure if a screencast-application can be that way. A „professional“ screencast software should add – in my oppinnion – have the possibility to add an additional virtual screen such that one can separate the own desktop from whatr is being recorded.

Anyway, a reason for me not even considering taking money for anything I code is that I dont consider most of the software I would write worth paying for it. Like, creating a screencast-software may not be the easiest thing to do, but well, it is still easy enough in most cases that I would never consider to get payed for writing one. So far.

But it seems that apple-persons will pay a lot of money for your apps, as long as they come as a shiny dmg-package with a lot of beautifully-shaded buttons and stuff, that integrates in your local UI-Environment. But thats not hard – compared to Linux and Windows, Mac OS X has a very unified Desktop-API that is widely accepted, it is rather easy to code GUI-Applications that behave like Mac OS X apps. So … well … why not become a Mac-Developer? Should be the easiest way to make money as a programmer.

Its a bit like homoeopathy: Delute something multiple times with cheap desktop-pr0n, and tell the people it is better than anything else.

10 Antworten zu I really tend to consider becoming a Mac-Developer

  1. Rafael sagt:

    I disagree.

    If you want to make money and great Mac OS X applications, you have to do it with passion and love. And it’s not about the money, it’s about the fun you’ll have and the whole community who is happy with your product. To think that you can jump on the bandwagon making a decent Mac OS X application with a shiny icon is pretty naïve.

    And always remember: be honest. Don’t code shit and try to tell people that this is the greatest software ever. Good Mac OS X software is no shit.

  2. dasuxullebt sagt:

    Thank you for your comment. I agree, one shouldnt take money for shit – thats actually what I criticized. I think I gave enough sufficient examples of how shit gets payed by mac users.
    Like those Screencast-Apps. All basically have the same features. All of them basically have the same UI. All of them basically have the same abilities. I dont see why anybody would pay money for it, but people do. Same for window managers.
    And to me, when somebody takes money for such little apps, it shows that he cannot have passion. Maybe for larger projects when its actually the main job to maintain some software project, you can have passion. But not for something so small.
    And good Mac-Software … well, all the portable software that also runs on other OS’es (firefox, virtualbox, irssi) is good. Parallels and VMWare Fusion are good pieces of software (they even cost money) – and well, they are pieces of software that is really worth being paied. But think about it – you can get VMWare Fusion vor $60 iirc, and there are even more expensive Screencast-Apps …

  3. Rafael sagt:

    What screencast applications are you talking about? I know a lot of them and almost everyone I know is worth the money.

    Your perspective is too geeky. Most of the people wouldn’t say that irssi is a great piece of software. Only a small percentage uses IRC these days and an even less percentage uses the terminal.

    Why do you compare virtual machines with screencasting applications? Compare virtual machines with virtual machines and screencasting applications with screencasting applications. And if you don’t have a need for something, just ignore it.

    Saying that Lamborghini is screwing me — just because I don’t need a car — is absurd. That doesn’t say anything about the quality of the car or if it’s worth the price.

    It’s your opinion, but it’s flakey right from the start and your line of argument doesn’t get better over time.

  4. dasuxullebt sagt:

    Actually I would like to have a Screencast-Software. But there is none. Even under Windows, you get free versions of such software, and even the shareware-versions like HyperCam only put a little banner on top of the video rather than on the whole video taken.

    Maybe, to get my point clearer: Software for Mac OS is not different from software on other platforms – it would be naive to think that. I dont see why software for the mac should cost more that software for other platforms. But it seems like Mac-Users are more willing to pay for software than other people. Which is actually strange.

  5. Rafael sagt:

    That’s simply not true. Just look at such detailed comparisons and you’ll understand the difference between users of different platforms. You can’t get more polished and integrated software than for the Mac OS X platform. And who tells you that software for the Mac costs more than for other platforms? There always different products and they’ll always have a different price.

    You could be right that Mac users are willing to pay more for software, because they get a better quality. But what has this to do with our discussion?

    And why do you tell me that there is no screencasting software for Mac OS X? There are a lot of different products with different price ranges that support different workflows. There is even a free solution that comes with every Mac OS X installation and gives you some basic functionality: QuickTime X.

  6. dasuxullebt sagt:

    Ok. Well, I am not an Apple Person – there is no doubt about that. I would never consider even thinking about positions of icons in that detailed way.

  7. Rafael sagt:

    After using Mac OS X for a couple of years you’ll realize that there’s a lot more than just taking more money for applications which cost more than on the Windows platform.

  8. dasuxullebt sagt:

    I am usually a Linux-User – I prefer KDE 3.5 as a good user-interface, but well, its getting deprecated, and the new KDE 4 series can be thrown away, same for Gnome. Thus, its not that I consider Windows being better than Mac OS in general. But it also isnt the other way around.

  9. nggalai sagt:

    Ah, yes. This sounds familiar. Very familiar. I, too, was originally a Linux person. Back in 2006 I needed a notebook, though, and I don’t know about you, but I didn’t really feel like trying to get Arch to run on a Dell or Lenovo box. Power management issues abounded, not to mention the sleep / insomnia issues back then.

    So I got a Mac instead. I figured “well, it’s BSD at the core, so, eh, can’t be that bad, can it?”

    It wasn’t. But I was pretty pissed about every tiny little add-on to the OS costing € 10-30. So I ignored most of them.

    Enter the “Delicious Generation”. Another thing I ignored. May I say “Disco?” What a POS. Which was SOLD. I mean, really. What were they thinking?

    I tided myself over using MacPorts. So far, so good, but – well, OS X is more than said BSD core. I want Services in my apps, centrally configurable keyboard shortcuts, ColorSync support, etc. OS X isn’t a great OS because it looks funky. It’s the integration thingy that made me buy a second Mac a couple of weeks ago.

    Anyway, back on lill-app-topic: My rule with tools (rather than applications) costing money simply is “if I can work more productively using that crap, I’ll happily pay for it. Otherwise, uninstall it.”

    Works like a charm. Say, MercuryMover. $ 20 may sound steep for the ability to move windows around with your keyboard, but hey – it makes my life easier. I’m pretty much bound to OS X right now, so it doesn’t help me to bitch and moan and consider Linux or (gasp!) Windows as alternatives. It might be a bitter pill to swallow, but if something really is usable and makes my life easier, I have no issues shelling out a couple of bucks. Should the developer be responsive and the app feature a decent tryout phase, that is …

  10. dasuxullebt sagt:

    Seems like a good attitude. Well, since a few more of the programs I used under Linux are working now again, I am again more happy with Snow Leopard.

    But actually, I didnt mean to criticise Mac OS as such (I did so before). I criticised the developers for taking money.

    At the moment I am trying to find out more about the Window-Server-API of Mac OS X. So I can begin to write my own stuff – maybe – using it, before giving up and just paying for something that is already ready-to-use.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

