Proceeding with Arch Linux – btrfs, s2disk, umtsmon

Just a little Info of how it goes on with Arch Linux on my MacBook.

I switchen my Home-Partition to btrfs. It is experimental – that is, I know that I shouldnt save anything of value only on this – as you should never save anything of value only in one place. But the snapshotting-facilities are extremely useful, especially when experimenting with software. In the long term I want to switch my root-partition completely to it. At the moment, I will keep it that way – there will certainly come a time when I completely damage my system and have to reinstall it, and then I can redesign it.

Then – as you might notice from my former rant about KDE – I switched to gnome. Its nice, it works, it didnt crash so far, and I could customize it in a way I like. Meanwhile, Networking, also Wifi, works. Thats nice. Also the german keyboard layout and my customized settings for the touchpad work under Gnome. What doesnt work is compiz – but I can live without it for now.

Then for my GSM-Stick I used umtsmon. It uses ppp, but the default version of ppp doesnt support removing the default route. Therefore, one needs the package ppp-rdr in the AUR directory – which had a bug in the PKGBUILD-File (the file doesnt state correctly that it does provide ppp), so you have to fix that yourself. I am sure they already fixed it.

I had to write an udev-rule for to allow a user to access /dev/ttyUSB0. Though, still, I have to use umtsmon as root, since somehow ppp doesnt allow the -noauth-Option without being root. Therefore, I use sux to switch. I will have to investigate on this. Maybe, since now NetworkManager seems to work, I can connect through it, instead of umtsmon.

A problem with umtsmon was resolv.conf – it doesnt set it properly. I just added 8.8.8.8 (the google-nameserver) to it, then it worked. Sort of. Well, mobile internet is a pain – but thats not umtsmon’s fault.

For suspending to disk I use s2disk – I couldnt manage to make the Suspend-Facilities of Gnome and KDE work, but s2disk works. So I wrote an own script and added an application launcher to my panel. The content of the script is:

#! /bin/bash

kquitapp konversation;
purple-remote setstatus?status=offline;
gnome-screensaver-command -l && sleep 5 && sudo s2disk

This quits Konversation if online, sets the Pidgin-Status to offline if it runs, Locks the screen, then waits 5 seconds (this is a hack, because the gnome-screensaver fades out the screen – but it also fades after hibernation, which is annoying (and I couldnt find a gconf-entry to turn off this fading), and then suspends (of course, I had to add s2disk to the /etc/sudoers). There may be more elegant ways to do this, but well, it works that way, and it fits my needs.

And well, I did something epic: I installed debootstrap and bootstrapped a debian-system on an USB-Stick. Bootstrapping Debian from Arch Linux. Isnt it nice? Well, the AUR-Package didnt have a current version which is downloadable, so I had to modify the md5-checksum and the package version to make it work.

I wonder if there is something like debootstrap for arch linux.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

